Quorum Court

The Quorum Court is the legislative body of county government and consists of 9, 11, 13 or 15 members depending on the population of the county. Grant County has 9 members. The quorum court members are called Justices of The Peace and are elected for two year terms from districts within the county. These district officials meet each month, more often if necessary, to conduct county business and review ordinances and resolutions for passage. The County Judge is the presiding officer over the quorum court without a vote, but with the power to veto. This veto can be overridden with a 3/5ths vote of the total membership of the quorum court. (See generally ACA 14-14-801 and 14-14-901 et seq.)

As provided by Amendment No. 55 of the Arkansas Constitution, a county government acting through its quorum court may exercise local legislative authority not expressly prohibited by the Constitution or by law for the affairs of the county (ACA 14-14-801). Some limitations are: The quorum court cannot declare any act a felony (felonies are covered by the State Criminal Code); quorum courts may not participate in the day-to-day administration of county executive branch offices and exercise no authority unrelated to county affairs (ACA 14-14-806).

The quorum court may exercise the following powers, but not limited to: A) The levy of taxes in manner prescribed by law: B) appropriate public funds for the expenses of the county in a manner prescribed by ordinance; C) preserve the peace and order and secure freedom from dangerous or noxious activities; provided, however, that no act may be declared a felony; D) for any public purpose, contract, or join with another county, or with any political subdivision or with the United States; E) create, consolidate, separate, revise, or abandon any elected office or offices except during the term thereof; provided, however, that a majority of those voting on the question at a general election have approved said action; F) fix the number and compensation of deputies and county employees; G) fix the compensation of each county officer with a minimum and maximum to be determined by law; H) fill vacancies in elected county offices; I) provide for any service or performance of any function relating to county affairs; J) to exercise other powers, not inconsistent with law, necessary for effective administration of authorized services and functions (ACA 14-14-801).

The Grant County Quorum Court meets every third (3rd) Monday of each month at 7:00 p.m. at the Grant County Courthouse Courtroom. In the event that a holiday falls on that Monday, the meeting is held the following night at the same time and place.
Quorum Court Agendas


Jason RoshtoDISTRICT 1
Justice Jason Roshto
37 Wooden Head Ln
Sheridan, Arkansas 72150
Danny BoneDISTRICT 2
Justice Danny Bone
205 W Mockingbird Ln
Sheridan, Arkansas 72150

Justice Jimmy Easley
3820 Stagecoach Rd
Redfield, AR 72132

Grant Westmoreland DISTRICT 4
Justice Grant Westmoreland
50 Sites Dr
Sheridan, Arkansas 72150

Justice Scott Wells
4712 Grant 51
Sheridan, Arkansas 72150
Tony M. Carder DISTRICT 6
Justice Tony M. Carder
PO Box 180
1226 Hwy 229 N
Poyen, Arkansas 72128

Mike Nevens DISTRICT 7
Justice Mike Nevens
461 Grant 441
Prattsville, Arkansas 72129
Mark Allen DISTRICT 8
Justice Mark Allen
1635 Grant 13
Sheridan, Arkansas 72150 

District 9
Justice Paul Drake
5659 Hwy 190 E
Pine Bluff, AR 71602
2017-2018 Quorum Court
2017- 2018 Quorum Court

Mike Nevens, Chairman
Danny Bone
Grant Westmoreland
Tony Carder

Tony Carder, Chairman                                                 Mike Nevens
 Mark Allen
 Danny Bone

Grant Westmoreland, Chairman
Mark Allen
Jason Roshto                                                                Scott Wells
Jason Roshto, Chairman
Jimmy Easley
Tony Carder
Paul Drake

Danny Bone, Chairman
Jimmy Easley                                                                  Scott Wells                                                                        Paul Drake